Allowing kids to go out on their own

As a kid I was emcouraged to play out. living on a housing estate we knew how far we could go, and were always told when playing out. that we, my friendds and I, stay togetther and go in before it got dark.

Picture of my son watching his favourite thngs trains

Today my son and I went to one of our favourite parks in Wimbledon to search for a cat we often see and wanted to look for her himself whilst I sat on the bench, and is him telling, “I want to do things on my own” and that is fine, as long I can see him and trust him more now, as there was a time he’d run off and if he saw a gate run out of it, but now came back to where I was and feeling comfortable in letting him walk around the park on his own.

I was lucky when it came to school as it was just around the corner and so when I was in my final years at Primary school started to walk home to school on my own, before then I would be looked after other parents, but as we go older the boundary of where we (tlking about my brother and I, could go further on our on, and of the estate, and to the adventure park nearby, as we became more responsible.

I know at some point Henry would like to go out on his own and it scares me not going to lie, and worry about it because of knowing where he is and make sure he will let me know where he is and when he will be coming home.

I will be getting him an Apple Watch to use to make sure I can keep track of his whereabouts, but at the same time don’t want to be intrusive and have him think, feel that he can’t be trusted. So, for me, when Henry can go out on his own will be when it is right for both of us, and not restrictive because from experience is not always effective, and can cause kids to go somewhere and not tell you and so it will be setting boundaries. Allowing him the freedom to explore, but safely.

I feel the time will be on, when I know he can cross a road safely as he is getting to that stage, but he not got a long concentration span and goes into his own world, so it is paying attention of his whereabouts, he can pay for things himself, can travel by himself and come home safely, and being street wise.

So if you are a parent and your kids have begun to go out on their own, and when you feel is the right time, please leave a comment below as I’d love to share and give me some tips and tricks.

Many thanks for reading,

Carrie X

2 thoughts on “Allowing kids to go out on their own

Leave a comment