Limiting our kids and challenging them

Today my son’s dad and I went to see his new school that he is going to because they have smaller classes and hopefully helps him to concentrate more and not be easily distracted.

My son has ADHD and on the Autism Spectrum, and it is challenging, but when it comes to my son the one thing we want to do is along with his school, to do more challenging learning, by reading bigger books, because he can do a lot more than what he shows at school and so we want his learning to not be limited and to expand.

Photo by Kampus Production on Pexels.com

With this new school he won’t be given homework, and so will be learning at school, and feels this leaves space for us me and his dad and grandparents to create activities that is educational but fun, example have him do painting to help with grip as his writing is getting good, but not consistent and will help with his grip and he has a wooden dinosaur to paint and if you check out The Works they have wooden objects like houses, to paint and craft.

I want to get him doing chores, like making his bed when prompted but I want him to do this automatically without being asked. He decides when we wake up and I thought being a mum meant to pulling him out of bed, but no it is the other way around, he drags me out of bed.

My son this weekend wanted to take a picture with my phone and I was a big sceptical but feel bad in feeling reluctant to let him so I let him take photos and going to give him a camera as I do have one that I haven’t used I just need to find the cable to transfer photos to my laptop and print off.

I want him to learn more in terms of cooking and doing more baking that he does with my Step dad and when he is tall enough to help wash up and he has shown interest in doing laundry and has asked me if he can put the clothes in it, and so going to teach him and yes it may be a challenge because of separating clothes to wash, but the more I let him do the laundry the more he will learn more on everyday challenging tasks.

Thank you for you who follows this blog site and if you are new then welcome, and if you like my blogs then you can follow me, and so when I publish a blog you will be alerted by email and this blog site is all about parenting and my life a mum, and what I have learned as a parent.

I do write a newsletter each month and so if you’d like to read them check out my blog site Everyone can build a castle, where each month I post it and talks about my content that I post on other blogs and my content on Youtube, as I do have three Youtube channels.

Many thanks for reading,

Carrie X

Leave a comment