When our kids are sick

Today I had to go and pick my son up early from school as he is not very well and so means that I will have to change my plans, but that is okay kids get sick however much we try and avoid it and kids are our main priority. I am never going to put my blogs or writing first over my son, but around him.

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels.com

Children will get sick however much we try to prevent our kids from being unwell and actually editing this blog was good to take a break from my laptop and took a notebook to make notes for my blogs and books. There is always a way to work around our kids, even if it is for 10 minutes. My son often wants my full attention so I will wait to bed time to write.

When our children get sick it can cause anxiety as a parent as often I fear the worst but that is not a bad thing, because it means you care and makes you to take action, and I did google, which many say you shouldn’t, and I try not to, but the more I was telling myself no, I had to, just to make sure.

I began this blog on the Wednesday and since then touch wood my son is a lot better. I’m not sure of what it was but there are when kids going to school bugs going around and it can be from someone in the street. Often you don’t ever know but get prepared should your kid get sick is the key to helping them to get better.

I do store Calpol and Calcough, with Vapor Rub, and don’t use straight away but have them on hand as they do help. Some may argue and I am never reckless when it comes to medicines but like on Saturday night he had a coughing fit and when Henry my son gets a cold he will instantly get a nasty cough. I also have a thermometer thanks to my mother as I often forget but is a must for me and since he was born I have had one.

I make sure he doesn’t touch any other child when sick and make sure he is fully better, like to day we went to home bargains and he saw a baby girl whilst we waited for my mum and step dad and wanted to touch her sweetly but pulled him away. You can’t cocoon them because my son still wants to be about to get out, but just play in the garden or in the playground we have near by when there is no other kids, but can be tricky especially when you have more than one child.

Do you best that is what I’d say and go by the guidelines like making sure each child when they go to the toilet wash their hands and before they touch food and sneeze using the inside of their elbow.

When it comes to kids being sick you aren’t allowed back to school for 48 hours and so Henry had the rest of the week off. We wondered if it was due to phlegm that he was sick but then he had a bad tummy so not so sure so it is good to take precautions and anything that had sick on do a high temperature wash on clothes or some if not may need to be thrown away and replaced.

Make sure items are washed like baby plates and if your child is under 6 months old and no I am not a doctor so I am not taking place of a medical person who is, but is from what have experienced, that all items like bottles, soothers and breast pumps are sterilised.

Do contact your doctor or health visitor if you are worried, as if there cough continues for more than a week, and they begin to bring up Mucus they may need antibiotics and have an infection of some sort and they not a energetic as they usually are and have a high temperature seek medical attention and do go to A and E, especially if they develop a rash that won’t fade or they have terrible diarrhea.

There are some good indoor activities you can do whilst they are sick. Like me and Henry played Bowls and he has this painting book. where all you need is water and a brush and it changes colour in the image they are painting. We cuddle up on the sofa with a blanket and watched the snooker which I haven’t watched for years and did some reading and learning at home, like my mum bought my son a maths book and did this, this morning.

I hope that I have not scared you, just supporting you because often we can feel if we are doing the right thing when it comes to our kids and are sick, but do what you feel right and chat with other mums, that has helped me a lot.

Thank you for the follows and that you have liked my content on this blog and with the warmer growing near it is time to get outdoors, and make sure you have suncream and stay hydrated.

So many thanks for reading,

Carrie X

I

1 thought on “When our kids are sick

Leave a comment